We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Best Seven Selections – compiled by Daniel W. Best

by Various Artists

  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Best Seven Selections – compiled by Daniel W. Best via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 7 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      €12.99 EUR or more 




"Best Seven Selections" is a little showcase of artists on or affiliated with the Best Seven Records / Sonar Kollektiv imprint from Berlin. Selected by the label's founder, Berlin-based DJ Daniel W. Best, this compilation is defining a sound somewhere between soul, reggae and dub.

"Best Seven Selections" opens with "After the Fire" an exclusive dub track by German producer Kabuki featuring the vocals of multi-talented singer Cleveland Watkiss, who you can find singing alongside reggae, soul or jazz-formations as well as MCing for Drum n'Bass DJs all over the world. From the other side of the globe looking from Europe come the band Fat Freddy's Drop out of Wellington, NZ, also known as DJ Fitchie and Joe Dukie under which moniker they previously released the cult-track "Midnight Marauders" (SB7010) on Best Seven / Sonar Kollektiv. Here they are represented by the tracks "Hope" and "This Room" both featuring the incredible soul singer Dallas. Other exclusive Best Seven tracks on the compilation include "Stilla Move" and a remix of "Bass Drum and Snare" by Ex-Rockers Hifi member Glyn "Bigga" Bush aka Lightning Head featuring the German reggae-singer Patrice.
Further exclusive tracks on "Best Seven Selections" include "Dancehall Credentials" by Seeds feat. Felix Banton (Friends of Earl Zinger), "Water on Glas" sung by Taffari and produced by Axel Hirn from the project Noiseshaper and an exclusive remix of "Torch of Freedom" which was orginally written by Cleveland Watkiss. It is sung here by Joy Denalane, one of the most famous German soul singers, for the Re:Jazz project on Infracom Records. Her old Berlin band mates Oliver Frost and Adrian Wagner gave this former bossanova tune a superb reggae-outfit. Surely, there are more Berliners on this compilation: Of course Rhythm and Sound are no secret, but their dubbed out techno sound is. Here they are represented which "Best Friend" feat. the Wackie's label legend Love Joy. Many also know the singer Tikiman from his work with Rhythm and Sound. "One after One" is taken from his debut Solo-album which was released under the Moniker Paul St. Hilaire.

Several titles will be released on 12 Inch incl. "After the Fire" by Kabuki feat. Cleveland Watkiss (SB7013), "Water on Glas" by Taffari (SB7014) and "This Room" by DJ Fitchie feat. Joe Dukie (SB7012).


released October 27, 2003


all rights reserved



Sonar Kollektiv Berlin, Germany

Sonar Kollektiv was founded in 1997 by Jazzanova. Designed as a platform for own releases it soon attracted numerous new discoveries and like-minded musicians to lead their trumps right here. Still it was never the intention of SK to pursue one specific sound or provide an already existing scene. Each and every release on the label was meant to illustrate the musical taste of the collective. ... more

contact / help

Contact Sonar Kollektiv

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account